Leadership Team

Refugee Congress is governed by an active Board of Directors committed to our mission and objectives. Board Members are Refugee Congress Delegates elected by their peers to serve as regional or at-large representatives for three-year terms. Board Officers are elected yearly.

Board of Directors

Lourena Gboeah, Board Chair

Northeast Regional Representative

Dauda Sesay, Vice Chair

Southern Regional Representative

Biar Atem, Treasurer

Western Regional Representative

Carmen Kcomt, Secretary

At Large Representative

Fatima Dirie

Western Regional Representative

Drocella Mugorewera

Southeast Regional Representative

Karna Gurung

Midwest Regional Representative
Valerie Bahige

Valerie Bahige

At Large Representative

National Director

Nili Sarit Yossinger is the Refugee Congress National Director, appointed by the Board of Directors in 2019.





Other Staff

Refugee Congress is a growing organization currently staffed by two part-time contractors.

Hilary Binder-AvilesĀ is Refugee Congress’ Organizational Consultant.

Kacy Kostiuk is Refugee Congress’ Communications Manager.